Title: UB40

UB40 is a British reggae band formed in Birmingham in 1978. The band’s name comes from the Unemployment Benefit Form 40, which many of the band members had to sign as they were originally unemployed. Their unique blend of reggae, pop, and ska music helped them achieve international success and become one of the most iconic bands of the 1980s and beyond.

Band Members:
UB40 has had a rotating lineup over the years, but the core members include:

– Robin Campbell: Vocals and guitar
– Duncan Campbell: Vocals
– Jimmy Brown: Drums
– Earl Falconer: Bass
– Norman Hassan: Percussion
– Brian Travers: Saxophone
– Tony Mullings: Keyboards
– Laurence Parry: Trumpet
– Martin Meredith: Saxophone

Career Highlights:
UB40 released their debut album, “Signing Off,” in 1980, which reached number 2 on the UK Albums Chart and established them as rising stars in the music industry. The album displayed their social and political consciousness, tackling issues such as unemployment, poverty, and racism.

The band’s breakthrough came with the release of their cover of Neil Diamond’s “Red Red Wine” in 1983, which topped the UK Singles Chart and became a global sensation. Their reggae-infused rendition of the song captivated audiences worldwide and solidified their place in music history.

Throughout the 1980s and 1990s, UB40 continued to churn out hit after hit, including “Can’t Help Falling in Love,” “I Got You Babe” with Chrissie Hynde, and “Kingston Town.” Their infectious melodies and socially conscious lyrics resonated with fans across different generations and cultures.

UB40 Albums:
1. Signing Off (1980)
2. Present Arms (1981)
3. Present Arms in Dub (1981)
4. UB44 (1982)
5. Labour of Love (1983)
6. Geffery Morgan (1984)
7. Baggariddim (1985)
8. Rat in the Kitchen (1986)
9. UB40 CCCP: Live in Moscow (1987)
10. UB40 (1988)
11. Labour of Love II (1989)
12. Promises and Lies (1993)
13. Guns in the Ghetto (1997)
14. Labour of Love III (1998)
15. Cover Up (2001)
16. Homegrown (2003)
17. Who You Fighting For? (2005)
18. TwentyFourSeven (2008)
19. Labour of Love IV (2010)
20. Getting Over the Storm (2013)
21. A Real Labour of Love (2018)
22. Bigga Baggariddim (2020)

UK Chart-Topping Hits:
1. “Red Red Wine” – 1983
2. “Can’t Help Falling in Love” – 1993
3. “I Got You Babe” (with Chrissie Hynde) – 1985
4. “Kingston Town” – 1990
5. “Don’t Break My Heart” – 1985
6. “Please Don’t Make Me Cry” – 1983
7. “Rat in Mi Kitchen” – 1986
8. “I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight” (with Robert Palmer) – 1990
9. “Sing Our Own Song” – 1986
10. “(I Can’t Help) Falling in Love with You” – 1993

Awards and Achievements:
UB40 has achieved numerous awards and accolades throughout their career, including a Grammy nomination for Best Reggae Recording and a BRIT Award for Best British Group in 1984. They have sold over 70 million records worldwide and continue to tour and perform to dedicated fans globally.

UB40’s enduring legacy in the music industry is a testament to their talent, creativity, and unwavering commitment to spreading messages of unity and love through their music. Their infectious reggae beats and soulful vocals have touched the hearts of millions, making them one of the most beloved bands in British music history.

🤞Don’t miss new stories!

We don’t spam! Read our Privacy Policy for more info.